Search The Record Hub

Acoustic Sounds celebrates Contemporary Records with this new reissue of the West Side Story album by pianist André Previn, bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Shelly Manne.

Originally released in 1960, the album contains 8 cuts from the musical soundtrack reinterpreted in a jazz style.

The last of a series of showtune albums recorded by the Previn—Mitchell—Manne trio finds the all-star group focusing on the music of West Side Story (Previn and Manne alternated leadership, and it was the drummer's good fortune to have the famous My Fair Lady album under his own name). This album has eight of the main themes from the famous musical, including "I Feel Pretty," "Maria" and "America." As usual, the melodies are treated respectfully yet swingingly, and Andre Previn in particular excels in this setting.

Recorded by legendary engineer Roy DuNann this edition is pressed on 180-gram vinyl pressed at QRP with All-Analog mastering from the original tapes by Bernie Grundman and is presented in a tip-on jacket.

Track Listing:
Side A
1. Something’s Coming
2. Jet Song
3. Tonight
4. I Feel Pretty

Side B
1. Gee, Officer Krupke!
2. Cool
3. Maria
4. America