Search The Record Hub

Bernard Purdie's 'Soul to Jazz' project takes two different approaches: The first part focuses on the renowned WDR Big Band led by Gil Goldstein. Soul classics such as Stevie Wonder's 'Superstition', 'When a Man Loves a Woman', Eddie Harris's 'Freedom Jazz Dance' and Lee Morgan's famous groove tune, 'Sidewinder', are interpreted in large scale sound. One discovery of these recordings amidst all the renowned guest soloists is the New York-born singer, Martin Moss. The great success of this first album, released under 'Soul to Jazz', led to 'Soul to Jazz II', a more intimate record, but one that picks up where the first recording left off, by exploring similar themes. Again, Purdie called together a notable band of kindred spirits, including saxophonists Hank Crawford (BB King, Ike and Tina Turner, Ray Charles), Stanley Turrentine (Jimmy Smith, Shirley Scott) and Vincent Herring, as well as guitarist Cornell Dupree (King Curtis) to pianists Benny Green and Junior Mance.

Track Listing:
1. Moanin' - Bernard Purdie
2. Superstition - Bernard Purdie
3. Iko Iko - Bernard Purdie
4. Señor Blues - Bernard Purdie
5. When a Man Loves a Woman - Bernard Purdie
6. Freedom Jazz Dance - Bernard Purdie
7. Sidewinder - Bernard Purdie
8. Brother Where Are You? - Bernard Purdie
1. Wade in the Water - Bernard Purdie
2. Work Song - Bernard Purdie
3. Land of 1000 Dances - Bernard Purdie
4. Gimme Some Lovin' - Bernard Purdie
5. Motherless Child - Bernard Purdie
6. New Orleans Strutt - Bernard Purdie
7. La Place Street - Bernard Purdie
8. Amen - Bernard Purdie
1. Jubilation - Bernard Purdie
2. Joshua - Bernard Purdie
3. Mr. Magic - Bernard Purdie
4. Theme from Shaft - Bernard Purdie
5. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen - Bernard Purdie