Search The Record Hub

One of the very rare chances, and quite possibly the only chance to listen to the genius of Ennio Morricone engaging with the musical world of jazz. His soundtrack for the film 'The Blue-Eyed Bandit' ('Il Bandito Dagli Occhi Azzuri' by Alfredo Giannetti, 1980) is marked by a relentless rhythm that perfectly matches the atmosphere of the film. The main theme, 'Città Viva', is a vibrant and metropolitan piece. This is one of the very few times in which Ennio Morricone, who was famously suspicious of jazz improvisation, asked his musicians to be free and improvise, adding their solos to the original structure - the solo viola of Dino Asciolla, one of the greatest violists of all time, in particular stands out. This is the first time the soundtrack has been released on vinyl since its original release in 1982.

Track Listing:
1. Città Viva - Various Performers
2. Madre Assente - Various Performers
3. Campi Aperti E Sospesi - Various Performers
4. Double Face - Various Performers
5. Esecuzione Radiofonica - Various Performers
6. Per Enrico, Riccardo E Roberto - Various Performers
7. Sotto I Ponti Della Città - Various Performers
8. For Dalila - Various Performers
9. Stranamente Di Notte - Various Performers
10. Cinque Quarti - Various Performers
11. Madre Assente #2 - Various Performers
12. Stranamente Un Giorno - Various Performers

Year of Production: 1982