Search The Record Hub

The severity of grief often comes across most clearly in art. What is the purpose of art but to depict human emotions for others to understand and empathise with? On his gripping album 'For Those I Love', David Balfe offers a highly personalised portrait of love, loss, confusion, nostalgia and pain - that is to say, the Dublin songwriter/producer walks you through the early stages of mourning. Each savage emotion comes across as tangible and real. Balfe makes spoken word music over urbane electronica that takes its cues from alternative hip-hop and various forms of club music. His heavily accented delivery and penchant for familiar Dublin cadences means writing can only be set in one place, elevating the album among the great modernworks set in the city.

As featured on the Irish Independent’s Top 50 Irish Albums Of ALL Time

Track Listing:
1. I Have a Love - For Those I Love
2. You Stayed/To Live - For Those I Love
3. To Have You - For Those I Love
4. Top Scheme - For Those I Love
5. The Myth/I Don't - For Those I Love
6. The Shape of You - For Those I Love
7. Birthday/The Pain - For Those I Love
8. You Live/No One Like You - For Those I Love
9. Leave Me Not Love - For Those I Love

Year of Production: 2021