Search The Record Hub

Funky Nothingness', the working title Frank Zappa used for this project, is comprised of studio cuts from 1970. This release is basically the follow up to 'The Hot Rats Sessions'. Frank Zappa used a very stripped-down combo featuring Don 'Surgarcane' Harris on violin and vocals. The music concentrates heavily on instrumental and blues-oriented material. This album consists of many unreleased tracks that Frank Zappa bypassed but kept his eye on during his career. He just never got around to releasing them. Some of the tracks were almost included on 'The Lost Episodes' album. 90 minutes of music will be mixed for the first time. The remaining music was mixed and edited by Frank Zappa. The vinyl will only contain the tracks FZ edited and mixed.

Track Listing:
1. Funky Nothingness - Frank Zappa
2. Tommy/Vincent Duo I - Frank Zappa
3. Love Will Make Your Mind Go Wild - Frank Zappa
4. I'm a Rollin' Stone - Frank Zappa
5. Chunga's Revenge (Basement Version) - Frank Zappa
6. Basement Jam - Frank Zappa
1. Work With Me Annie/Annie Had a Baby - Frank Zappa
2. Tommy/Vincent Duo II - Frank Zappa
3. Sharleena (1970 Record Plant Mix) - Frank Zappa
4. Khaki Sack - Frank Zappa
5. Twinkle Tits - Frank Zappa

Year of Production: 2023