Search The Record Hub

Pianist and composer Gerald Clayton explores the impact and abstraction of time on his ravishing second Blue Note album 'Bells On Sand', which features contributions from mentor Charles Lloyd on saxophone, father John Clayton on bass, longtime friend and peer Justin Brown on drums, and new collaborator MARO on vocals. 'Each musician on the record represents a different aspect of the axis of time and its shifting sands,' says Clayton. 'My father and Charles Lloyd, who has been a mentor figure to me, reflect new permutations of my past, and the lineage of elders who have shaped my development; Justin Brown, being my contemporary and musical brother, represents my present; and MARO represents the future-she is part of the next generation, and points to a brand new collaboration'.

Track Listing:
1. Water's Edge (Feat. John Clayton & Justin Brown) - Gerard Clayton
2. Elegia (Feat. John Clayton) - Gerard Clayton
3. Damunt De Tu Només Les Flors (Feat. MARO, John Clayton & Justin Brown) - Gerard Clayton
4. My Ideal 1 - Gerard Clayton
5. That Roy (Feat. Justin Brown) - Gerard Clayton
6. Rip (Feat. Justin Brown) - Gerard Clayton
7. Just a Dream (Feat. MARO) - Gerard Clayton
8. My Ideal 2 - Gerard Clayton
9. Peace Invocation (Feat. Charles Lloyd) - Gerard Clayton
10. This Is Music Where You're Going My Friends - Gerard Clayton

Year of Production: 2022