Search The Record Hub

A massive instrumental effort, as skilled and musical as it is on-the-fly improvised and messy. Seamlessly blending sonic experiments with live group interactions, Godspeed You! saunter through these four extended pieces with ease.

Variations of intensity and a wide dynamic range – features already present in their previous releases – are taken to an extreme in this album, with several crescendos, very subtle parts, but also explosive, heavy sequences.

The names in the first three tracks (all beginning with an “S”) may be understood as describing a loose image of a vector guiding the album: a noisy electrical storm is followed by a period of static left after it, after which one is finally able to sleep. Perhaps only after this period of rest after distress and waiting, the Antennas pointing upwards can be lifted once more (since they were lifted before in the first movement of the first track).

Track Listing:
1 Lift Yr. Skinny Fists, Like Antennas To Heaven...
2 Gathering Storm / Il Pleut À Mourir [+Clatters Like Worry]
3 ""Welcome To Barco AM/PM..."" [L.A.X.; 5/14/00]
4 Cancer Towers On Holy Road Hi-Way
1 Terrible Canyons Of Static
2 Atomic Clock.
3 Chart #3
4 World Police And Friendly Fire
5 [...+The Buildings They Are Sleeping Now]
1 Murray Ostril: ""...They Don't Sleep Anymore On The Beach...""
2 Monheim
3 Broken Windows, Locks Of Love Pt. III. / 3rd Part
Antennas To Heaven...
1 Moya Sings ""Baby-O""...
2 Edgyswingsetacid
3 [Glockenspiel Duet Recorded On A Campsite In Rhinebeck, N.Y.]
4 ""Attention...Mon Ami...Fa-Lala-Lala-La-La..."" [55-St.Laurent]
5 She Dreamt She Was A Bulldozer, She Dreamt She Was Alone In An Empty Field
6 Deathkamp Drone
7 [Antennas To Heaven...]

Year of Production: 2000