Search The Record Hub

'Horses' is the debut studio album by American musician Patti Smith, released in November 1975. It isn't hard to make the case for Patti Smith as a punk rock progenitor based on her debut album, which anticipated the new wave by a year or so_ the simple, crudely played rock & roll, featuring Lenny Kaye's rudimentary guitar work, the anarchic spirit of Smith's vocals, and the emotional and imaginative nature of her lyrics -- all prefigure the coming movement as it evolved on both sides of the Atlantic. Producer John Cale respected Smith's primitivism in a way that later producers did not, and the loose, improvisatory song structures worked with her free verse to create something like a new spoken word/musical art form_ Horses was a hybrid, the sound of a post-Beat poet, as she put it, 'dancing around to the simple rock & roll song'.

Track Listing:
1. Gloria - Patti Smith (5.58)
2. Redondo Beach - Patti Smith (3.26)
3. Birdland - Patti Smith (9.16)
4. Free Money - Patti Smith (3.52)
5. Kimberly - Patti Smith (4.27)
6. Break It Up - Patti Smith (4.04)
7. Land_ Horses/Land of a Thousand Dances/La Mer (De) - Patti Smith (9.26)
8. Elegie - Patti Smith (2.56)
9. My Generation - Patti Smith (3.17)

Year of Production: 1975