Search The Record Hub

Having successfully brought grunge to the mainstream with 1991's airwave dominating 'Nevermind', and its lead anthem, 'Smells Like Teen Spirit', Nirvana felt they needed to claw back some much needed punk rock credibility for 1993's 'In Utero'. Electing to hire Big Black's Steve Albini to record their third (and last) studio recording, the choice was no doubt influenced by Albini's impeccable credentials, having produced Kurt Cobain favourites The Breeders and The Pixies, as well as fronting the influential and confrontational Big Black during the 1980s. With a much more aggressive sound than its distinctly poppier predecessor, according to Q magazine, its songs confirm Cobain's genius with a tune. If this is how Cobain is going to develop, the future is lighthouse-bright'. Sadly, this was not to be the case.

Track Listing:
1. Serve the Servants - Nirvana
2. Scentless Apprentice - Nirvana
3. Heart Shaped Box - Nirvana
4. Rape Me - Nirvana
5. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle - Nirvana
6. Dumb - Nirvana
7. Very Ape - Nirvana
8. Milk It - Nirvana
9. Pennyroyal Tea - Nirvana
10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter - Nirvana
11. Tourette's - Nirvana
12. All Apologies - Nirvana

Year of Production: 1993