Search The Record Hub

Over the past decade, the visionary musician Arthur Russell has entered something close to the mainstream. Sampled and referenced by contemporary musicians, his papers now open to visitors at the Performing Arts Library at Lincoln Center in New York, and his name synonymous with a certain strain of tenderness, Russell is as widely known as he's ever been. Thanks to Russell's partner Tom Lee and to Steve Knutson of Audika Records, who have forged several records from Russell's vast archive of unfinished and unreleased work, the world now hears many versions of Arthur Russell. There's the Iowa boy, the disco mystic, the singer-songwriter and composer, and the fierce perfectionist deep in a world of echo. While all of these elements of Russell are individually true, none alone define him. Now, after ten years of work inside the Russell library, Lee and Knutson bring us Iowa Dream, yet another bright star in Russell's dazzling constellation. Blazing with trademark feeling, these nineteen songs are a staggering collection of Russell's utterly distinct songwriting.

Track Listing:
1. Wonder Boy - Arthur Russell
2. I Never Get Lonesome - Arthur Russell
3. Everybody Everybody - Arthur Russell
4. You Did It Yourself - Arthur Russell
5. Come to Life - Arthur Russell
6. Iowa Dream - Arthur Russell
7. Words of Love - Arthur Russell
8. I Still Love You - Arthur Russell
9. You Are My Love - Arthur Russell
10. Barefoot in New York - Arthur Russell
11. Just Regular People - Arthur Russell
12. I Wish I Had a Brother - Arthur Russell
13. I Felt - Arthur Russell
14. The Dogs Outside Are Barking - Arthur Russell
15. Sharper Eyes - Arthur Russell
16. Follow You - Arthur Russell
17. List of Boys - Arthur Russell
18. I Kissed the Girl from Outer Space - Arthur Russell
19. In Love With You for the Last Time - Arthur Russell

Year of Production: