Search The Record Hub

After fronting popular Jamaican vocal trio the Paragons on a succession of best-selling rock steady singles during the late Sixties, John Holt went on to become one of Jamaica's most popular solo performers, scoring a series of reggae hits for many of the island's leading record producers. His international breakthrough came in 1974 with the hugely popular '1000 Volts of Holt' album, which fused raw reggae rhythms with sophisticated orchestral arrangements. The highlight of the long-player was a reworking of Kris Kristoffersson's country hit, 'Help Me Make It Through The Night', which the following year became a global hit, with the single, peaking at Number 6 in the UK charts. Over the years that followed, Holt remained a giant of the reggae scene with further best sellers and numerous sell-out shows around the world. The very best of his solo work has been brought together on this 'Essential Artist' compilation, part of Trojan Records' range that showcases the work of Jamaica's best-loved 'foundation' artists.

Track Listing:
1. Help Me Make It Through the Night - John Holt
2. Pledging My Love - John Holt
3. Stealing Stealing - John Holt
4. My Heart Is Gone - John Holt
5. Looking Back - John Holt
6. I'll Be Lonely - John Holt
7. I Wanna Dance - John Holt
8. Ali Baba - John Holt
9. Stick By Me - John Holt
10. Strange Things - John Holt
11. Tonight - John Holt
12. The Further You Look - John Holt
13. Wild Fire - John Holt
14. Sweetie Come Brush Me - John Holt
1. Sister Big Stuff - John Holt
2. My Desire - John Holt
3. I'll Take a Melody - John Holt
4. Time and the River - John Holt
5. Let's Get It While It's Hot - John Holt
6. Ghetto Queen - John Holt
7. Reggae from the Ghetto - John Holt
8. You Baby - John Holt
9. You Will Never Find Another Love Like Mine - John Holt
10. I See Your Face - John Holt
11. The Tide Is High - John Holt
12. Let's Build Our Dreams - John Holt
13. Before the Next Teardrop - John Holt
14. Just the Way You Are - John Holt