Search The Record Hub

Wu Hen' is the second album from Peckham visionary Kamaal Williams. Cinematic strings from Miguel-Atwood Ferguson and virtuoso saxophone from Quinn Mason are textural additions that make for a deeper, multi-layered than previous releases. Bringing groove back to the forefront, 'Wu Hen' oscillates between celestial jazz, funk, rap and r&b reinforced with the rugged beat-heavy attitude of grime, jungle, house and garage - a self-styled fusion Kamaal describes as wu funk. New players on this record include LA's Greg Paul on drums (of Kalayst Collective), Rick Leon James on bass, Quinn Mason on saxophone alongside vocal features from cult rapper Mach-Hommy and Kaytranada collaborator Lauren Faith. Multi-talented renaissance musician Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (who has worked with Ray Charles, Flying Lotus, Dr. Dre, Mary J. Blige, and Seu Jorge) contributes signature strings, which add vivid colour and rich depth, evoking vintage David Axelrod. Kamaal rose to prominence with the hugely acclaimed Yussef Kamaal alongside drummer Yussef Dayes and a catalogue of 12's for imprints such as MCDE, Eglo, and Rhythm Section as Henry Wu that became essential DJ tools. In 2018 he launched Black Focus Records with the Kamaal Williams debut, 'The Return', which charted in the UK and saw sold out shows and festival appearances across Europe, North America and Asia.

1. Street Dreams (Feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson) - Kamaal Williams
2. One More Time - Kamaal Williams
3. 1989 - Kamaal Williams
4. Toulouse - Kamaal Williams
5. Pigalle - Kamaal Williams
6. Big Rick - Kamaal Williams
7. Save Me (Feat. Mach-Hommy) - Kamaal Williams
8. Mr Wu - Kamaal Williams
9. Hold On (Feat. Lauren Faith) - Kamaal Williams
10. Early Prayer - Kamaal Williams

Year of Production:2020