Search The Record Hub

If you're going to deconstruct the modern psyche', says Liela Moss, 'you might as well dance to it'. On her second solo album, 'Who the Power', Moss fulfils that remit with all the power its title calls for. After 2018's deeply personal 'My Name Is Safe in Your Mouth' - a debut solo album at times serene, at others stormy, on every front sumptuous - Moss entered a period of profound creative and personal self-reflection. When she emerged, she forged an album of questioning intensity and synth-loaded drama, with the expressive force in her voice refuelled by the urgent desire to interrogate the role of selfhood in fraught times. And, crucially, backed by the urgent grooves needed for the job. The result is another bold leap forwards for one of alt-rock's most magnetic, exploratory voices. Over 14 years, Moss's work with the Duke Spirit (on pause) ranged from brawling riff-rock to more cinematic ventures. Other gigs have included synth-rock recordings with Butler under the name Roman Remains and various collaborative ventures - with UNKLE, Nick Cave, Giorgio Moroder and Lost Horizons, as well as serving as muse for fashion icons Alexander McQueen and Phillip Lim, among others.

1. Turn Your Back Around - Liela Moss
2. Watching the Wolf - Liela Moss
3. Atoms at Me - Liela Moss
4. Always Sliding - Liela Moss
5. The Individual - Liela Moss
6. White Feather - Liela Moss
7. Battlefield - Liela Moss
8. Nummah - Liela Moss
9. Suako - Liela Moss
10. Stolen Careful - Liela Moss

Year of Production:2020