Search The Record Hub

Mercury Prize-nominated cross-genre composer/producer Anna Meredith releases her new project in collaboration with contemporary string quartet Ligeti Quartet. 'Nuc' started life as a conversation between Anna Meredith and Richard Jones (Ligeti Quartet viola) after a decade of collaboration, honouring a shared attitude towards creating music which pushes boundaries whilst also speaking very directly to the listener. In addition to string and electronic recordings of Anna's music from throughout her career, performed by Ligeti Quartet, Richard also developed new arrangements of existing compositions by Anna, and Nuc came to embody a celebration of forward-thinking pop composition rooted in classical instrumentation. The result is a joyful, occasionally furious, never too serious, sometimes energetic and sometimes restful collection of tracks which dazzle with Anna's signature compulsive harmonies, rhythmic shifts of gear and sparkling textures.

Track Listing:
1. Tuggemo (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
2. A Short Tribute to Teenage Fanclub (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
3. Honeyed Words (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
4. Solstice In (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
5. Solstice Out (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
6. Chorale (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
7. Shill (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
8. Haze (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
9. Blackfriars (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet
10. Nautilus (Anna Meredith) - Ligeti Quartet