Search The Record Hub

Dacus' third album was built on an interrogation of her coming-of-age years in Richmond, VA. 'Home Video' displays Dacus's ability to use the personal as portal into the universal. 'I can't hide behind generalisations or fiction anymore', Dacus says, though talking about these songs, she admits, makes her ache. That 'Home Video' arrives at the end of this locked down, fearful era seems as preordained as the messages within. 'I don't necessarily think that I'm supposed to understand the songs just because I made them', Dacus says, 'I feel like there's this person who has been in me my whole life and I'm doing my best to represent them'. After more than a year of being homebound, in a time when screens and video calls were sometimes our only form of contact, looking backward was a natural habit for many. If we haven't learned it already, this album is a gorgeous example of the transformative power of vulnerability. Dacus's voice, both audible and on the page, has a healer's power to soothe and ground and reckon.

Track Listing:
1. Hot & Heavy - Lucy Dacus
2. Christine - Lucy Dacus
3. First Time - Lucy Dacus
4. VBS - Lucy Dacus
5. Cartwheel - Lucy Dacus
6. Thumbs - Lucy Dacus
7. Going Going Gone - Lucy Dacus
8. Partner in Crime - Lucy Dacus
9. Brando - Lucy Dacus
10. Please Stay - Lucy Dacus
11. Triple Dog Dare - Lucy Dacus

Year of Production: 2021