Search The Record Hub

Early buzz on 'The Emancipation of Mimi' predicted that this would be the disc to mark 'the return of the voice' - the voice being that glass-shattering instrument that propelled Carey to the bestselling female artist of all-time status. But because of the small army of talent involved in its assembly, the album is way more than just a comeback vehicle. For proof, try straight-ahead, look-out-Beyonce-Mimi's-still-got-it 'Mine Again,' or '70s-soul cuddle-up, 'Circles:' a don't-attempt-on-American-Idol love song, or the gospel dazzlers 'Fly Like a Bird' and 'Stay the Night'. Snoop Dogg, Pharrell Williams and Jermaine Dupri also pitch in; between them and the highwire vocals, 'Emancipation' works the kind of pure-pop magic that sets us all free.

Track Listing:
1. It's Like That - Mariah Carey
2. We Belong Together - Mariah Carey
3. Shake It Off - Mariah Carey
4. Mine Again - Mariah Carey
5. Say Somethin' - Mariah Carey
6. Stay the Night - Mariah Carey
7. Get Your Number - Mariah Carey
8. One and Only - Mariah Carey
9. Circles - Mariah Carey
1. Your Girl - Mariah Carey
2. I Wish You Knew - Mariah Carey
3. To the Floor - Mariah Carey
4. Joy Ride - Mariah Carey
5. Fly Like a Bird - Mariah Carey
6. We Belong Together (Remix) - Mariah Carey
7. Don't Forget About Us - Mariah Carey
8. Making It Last All Night - Mariah Carey
9. Sprung - Mariah Carey
10. Secret Love - Mariah Carey

Year of Production: 2005