Search The Record Hub

Second studio album by Mary J. Blige, originally released on 29th November 1994 by Uptown Records. Unlike her debut, 'What's the 411?' (1992), Blige co-wrote fourteen of the album's tracks, making it her most introspective and personal album at the time. Similar to her debut album, 'My Life' features vast production from Sean 'Puffy' Combs for his newly-founded label, Bad Boy Entertainment, which was, at the time, backed by Arista Records. Considered to be her breakthrough album, 'My Life' became Mary J. Blige's second album to reach the top ten on the Billboard 200 chart, peaking at number seven, and debuting at number one on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart for eight weeks. In 1996, the album was nominated for Best R&B Album at the 38th Grammy Awards, while in December of the same year, the album was certified triple platinum by the RIAA, for shipments of three million copies in the United States. It also won the 1995 Billboard Music Award for Top R&B Album.

Track Listing:
1. Intro - Mary J. Blige
2. Mary Jane - Mary J. Blige
3. You Bring Me Joy - Mary J. Blige
4. Marvin Interlude - Mary J. Blige
5. I'm the Only Woman - Mary J. Blige
6. K. Murray Interlude - Mary J. Blige
7. My Life - Mary J. Blige
8. You Gotta Believe - Mary J. Blige
9. I Never Wanna Live Without You - Mary J. Blige
1. I'm Goin' Down - Mary J. Blige
2. My Life Interlude - Mary J. Blige
3. Be With You - Mary J. Blige
4. Mary's Joint - Mary J. Blige
5. Don't Go - Mary J. Blige
6. I Love You - Mary J. Blige
7. No One Else - Mary J. Blige
8. Be Happy - Mary J. Blige

Year of Production: 1994