Search The Record Hub

Nina Simone made her first trip into the studio in New York during 1957 to record her debut album 'Little Girl Blue'. In addition to her piano playing and vocals, the session featured Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert 'Tootie' Heath on drums. At 25-years old, Simone's performance boasted all the passion and ebullience of youth, and all the skill and grace of a seasoned veteran. Simone would not record again for two years. She signed a contract with the New York-based label Colpix Records in 1959, with whom she recorded her second album, 'The Amazing Nina Simone'. The LP features her singing (and piano playing) with an orchestra under the direction of Bob Mersey. This edition of the album features five bonus tracks.

Track Listing:
1. Blue Prelude - Nina Simone
2. Children Go Where I Send You - Nina Simone
3. Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More) - Nina Simone
4. Stompin' at the Savoy - Nina Simone
5. It Might As Well Be Spring - Nina Simone
6. You've Been Gone Too Long - Nina Simone
7. I Loves You Porgy - Nina Simone
8. Falling in Love Again (I Can't Help It) - Nina Simone
9. That's Him Over There - Nina Simone
10. Chilly Winds Don't Blow - Nina Simone
11. Theme from 'The Middle of the Night' - Nina Simone
12. Can't Get Out of This Mood - Nina Simone
13. Willow Weep for Me - Nina Simone
14. Solitaire - Nina Simone
15. That's All - Nina Simone
16. The Man With a Horn - Nina Simone
17. My Baby Just Cares for Me - Nina Simone

Year of Production: 1959