Search The Record Hub

Pete Rock And CL Smooths Full-Length Debut Is Presented Here As A Double LP Pressed On Clear Vinyl!

Get On Down proudly present Mecca And The Soul Brother, the critically
acclaimed 1992 full-length debut from Pete Rock & CL Smooth. The
album is considered as one of the greatest Hip Hop albums of all time.
Boasting tracks such as the first single, They Reminisce Over You
(T.R.O.Y.), a dedication to their deceased friend; Trouble T-Roy, which
went on to become not only their signature hit, but also one of Hip Hops
all-time great songs. The album is propelled forward by Rocks quick,
soulful interludes; usually bits of old R&B tunes layered with his
signature trumpet and sax loops.

Mecca And The Soul Brother
has stood the test of time. The release has been named one of the
essential recordings of the 90s by Rolling Stone, appears on Ego Trips
listing of the Top 25 Hip Hop albums released from 1980-1998, and
appeared on The Sources 100 Greatest Rap Albums of all time.

Track Listing:
A1 Return Of The Mecca
A2 For Pete's Sake
A3 Ghettos Of The Mind
A4 Lots Of Lovin
A5 Act Like You Know
B1 Straighten It Out
B2 Soul Brother #1
B3 Wig Out
B4 Anger In The Nation
B5 They Reminisce Over You (T.R.OY.)
C1 On And On
C2 It's Like That
C3 Can't Front On Me
C4 The Creator (Remix) (Bonus Track)
D1 Mecca And The Soul Brother (Remix) (Bonus Track)
D2 The Basement
D3 If It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right
D4 Skinz

Year of Production: 1992