Search The Record Hub

After Popol Vuh's release 'The Essential Album Collection - Vol. 1' in 2019 the fans have frequently asked for another Popol Vuh event. Now finally the time has come: in 2021, Popol Vuh's boxset 'Vol. 2 - Acoustic & Ambient Spheres' will be released.This edition consolidates four significant albums from the 1970's and the 1980's, conflating ambient musical phases of Popol Vuh. It sheds light on their central, recurring motives and styles of rock music, folk-ethno-fusion, ambient music and two atmospheric soundtracks for legendary Werner Herzog movies. Ultimately, Fricke personally did not like it when his music was categorized in genres or typologies: ''Call it magic music, or love music, if you like: it's music for the soul. That's it'. The edition contains the albums; 'Seligpreisung' (1973), 'Coeur de Verre' (OST for the Werner Herzog Movie, 'Coeur de Verre' 1978), 'Agape-Agape Love Love' (1983) and 'Cobra Verde' (OST for the Werner Herzog Movie 1987). All albums have been newly remastered on heavyweight 180g audiophile vinyl including one bonus track per album. The vinyl appear with adjusted original artworks. The boxset is completed by three picture prints, a picture still from the Movie 'Coeur de Verre' and the original movie poster of 'Cobra Verde' (both in Din A3 format) and an insert with detailed liners and photos.

Track Listing:
1. Der Tod Des Cobra Verde - Popol Vuh
2. Nachts: Schnee - Popol Vuh
3. Der Marktplatz - Popol Vuh
4. Eine Andere Welt - Popol Vuh
5. Grab Der Mutter - Popol Vuh
6. Om Mani Padme Hum - Popol Vuh
7. Sieh Nicht Uberm Meer Ist's - Popol Vuh
8. Hab Mut, Bis Dass Die Nacht Mit Ruh' Und Stille Kommt - Popol Vuh
1. Hand in Hand - Popol Vuh 
2. They Danced, They Laughed, As of Old - Popol Vuh 
3. Love, Life, Death - Popol Vuh 
4. The Christ Is Near - Popol Vuh 
5. Love-love - Popol Vuh 
6. Behold, the Drover Summonds - Popol Vuh 
7. Agape-agape - Popol Vuh
8. Why Do I Still Sleep - Popol Vuh 
9. Circledance (Bonus Track) - Popol Vuh 
1. Engel Der Gegenwart - Popol Vuh 
2. Blatter Aus Dem Buch Der Kuhnheit - Popol Vuh 
3. Das Lied Von Den Hohen Bergen - Popol Vuh
4. Huter Der Schwelle - Popol Vuh 
5. Der Ruf - Popol Vuh 
6. Singet, Denn Der Gesang Vertreibt Die Wolfe - Popol Vuh 
7. Gemeinschaft - Popol Vuh 
8. Auf Dem Weg - On the Way - Popol Vuh
9. Hand in Hand in Hand (Agape Guitar Version) (Bonus Track) - Popol Vuh 
1. Selig Sind Die, Die Da Hungern - Popol Vuh 
2. Tanz Der Chassidim - Popol Vuh 
3. Selig Sind, Die Da Hier Weinen - Popol Vuh 
4. Selig Sind, Die Da Willig Arm Sind - Popol Vuh 
5. Selig Sind, Die Da Leid Tragen - Popol Vuh 
6. Selig Sind Die Sanftmutigen - Popol Vuh 
7. Selig Sind, Die Da Reinen Herzens Sind - Popol Vuh 
8. Ja, Sie Sollen Gottes Kinder Heissen - Popol Vuh 
9. Be in Love (Bonus Track) - Popol Vuh 

Year of Production: 2021