Search The Record Hub

Since their 2012 debut, Protomartyr have mastered the art of evoking place: the grinding Midwest humility of their hometown, as well as the x-rayed elucidation of America that comes with their vantage. The group's sixth album was recorded at Sonic Ranch in Tornillo, TX with producer Jake Aron. 'The desert is more of a metaphor or symbol', singer Joe Casey says, 'of emotional deserts, or a place or time that seems to lack life'. The 'growth' came from a period of colossal transition for Casey, including the death of his mother. But life does go on, and Casey describes the great theme of 'Formal Growth In the Desert' as an embrace and acknowledgment of that fact: a 12-song testament to 'getting on with life', even when it feels impossibly hard.

Track Listing:
1. Make Way - Protomartyr
2. For Tomorrow - Protomartyr
3. Elimination Dances - Protomartyr
4. Fun in Hi Skool - Protomartyr
5. Let's Tip the Creator - Protomartyr
6. Graft Vs. Host - Protomartyr
7. 3800 Tigers - Protomartyr
8. Polacrilex Kid - Protomartyr
9. Fulfillment Center - Protomartyr
10. We Know the Rats - Protomartyr
11. The Author - Protomartyr
12. Rain Garden - Protomartyr

Year of Production: 2023