Search The Record Hub

The title says it all. In 1988, when this album was released, Public Enemy's music cut with a wholly revolutionary edge. Rarely has fear, anger, paranoia and anxiety been so masterfully compressed onto a record's grooves. The bomb squad's artistry is the keynote to the hard, lean delivery, while Chuck D's supremely pointed lyrics leave no stone of the black experience unturned. It is not comfortable listening, but on tracks such as 'Don't Believe the Hype', 'Night of the Living Baseheads' and 'Rebel Without a Pause' the listener is left in no doubt that they are facing a fantastically potent force.

Track Listing:
1. Countdown to Armageddon - Public Enemy (1.41)
2. Bring the Noise - Public Enemy (3.46)
3. Don't Believe the Hype - Public Enemy (5.19)
4. Cold Lampin' With Flavor - Public Enemy (4.17)
5. Terminator X to the Edge of Panic - Public Enemy (4.31)
6. Mind Terrorist - Public Enemy (1.21)
7. Louder Than a Bomb - Public Enemy (3.38)
8. Caught, Can We Get a Witness? - Public Enemy (4.53)
9. Show 'Em Watcha Got - Public Enemy (1.56)
10. She Watch Channel Zero?! - Public Enemy (3.49)
11. Night of the Living Baseheads - Public Enemy (3.15)
12. Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos - Public Enemy (6.24)
13. Security of the First World - Public Enemy (1.2)
14. Rebel Without a Pause - Public Enemy (5.03)
15. Prophets of Rage - Public Enemy (3.19)
16. Party for Your Right to Fight - Public Enemy (3.25)

Year of Production: 1988