Search The Record Hub

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studios in late 1960, 'Genius + Soul = Jazz' was one of the first four albums released on the Impulse! label. It was produced by Creed Taylor and includes hard-blowing arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Charles switched from his usual electric piano to a 'churchy' sounding Hammond organ and brought in the majority of Count Basie's band including trumpeters Thad Jones and Joe Newman, tenor saxophonists Billy Mitchell and Frank Wess, guitarist Freddie Green and drummer Sonny Payne. The record ascended to the No. 4 spot on Billboard's pop album chart and spawned the very first singles on Impulse! helping to put the label on the map.

Track Listing:
1. From the Heart - Ray Charles
2. I've Got News for You - Ray Charles
3. Moanin' - Ray Charles
4. Let's Go - Ray Charles
5. One Mint Julep - Ray Charles
6. It Had to Be You (Bonus Track) - Ray Charles
7. 'Deed I Do (Bonus Track) - Ray Charles
8. I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town - Ray Charles
9. Stompin' Room Only - Ray Charles
10. Mister C. - Ray Charles
11. Strike Up the Band - Ray Charles
12. Birth of the Blues - Ray Charles
13. Alexander's Ragtime Band (Bonus Track) - Ray Charles

Year of Production: 1961