Search The Record Hub

At The Copa' reveals Sam Cooke's Copacabana performance with all of the nuance and passion that his adoring audience experienced in 1964. For those who never had a chance to hear Sam Cooke in person, this album affords the best seat in the house. Sam Cooke's set is a microcosm of his overall career insofar as it mirrored the artist's own eclecticism. Broadway, blues, folk, jazz, gospel and even country, and, of course, soul are represented on such tracks as 'Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out', 'Frankie and Johnny', 'Try a Little Tenderness', and the hits 'Twistin' the Night Away', 'You Send Me' and '(I Love You) for Sentimental Reasons'. Of special note is Cooke's version of Bob Dylan's 'Blowin' in the Wind' that reflected the struggle for civil rights then underway. Dylan's song inspired Cooke to write his like themed masterpiece, 'A Change Is Gonna Come'.

Track Listing:
1. Opening Introduction - Sam Cooke
2. The Best Things in Life Are Free - Sam Cooke
3. Bill Bailey Won't You Please Come Home - Sam Cooke
4. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out - Sam Cooke
5. Frankie and Johnny - Sam Cooke
6. Medley: Try a Little Tenderness/(I Love You) for Sentimental Reasons/You Send Me - Sam Cooke
7. If I Had a Hammer - Sam Cooke
8. When I Fall in Love - Sam Cooke
9. Twistin' the Night Away - Sam Cooke
10. This Little Light of Mine - Sam Cooke
11. Blowin' in the Wind - Sam Cooke
12. Tennessee Waltz - Sam Cooke

Year of Production: 1964