Search The Record Hub

Spirituals' is Santigold's first full length album since 2016's '99¢', and was mostly recorded during the 2020 lockdown. Collaborating virtually with producers and contributors: Rostam, Boys Noize, Dre Skull, P2J, Nick Zinner, SBTRKT, JakeOne, Illangelo, Doc McKinney, Psymun, Ricky Blaze, Lido, Ray Brady, and Ryan Olson. 'Recording this album was a way back to myself after being stuck in survival mode. It wasn't until I made the space to create that I realised I wasn't only creating music but a lifeline', she says. California was on fire, we were hiding from a plague, the social justice protests were unfolding. I'd never written lyrics faster in my life. After having total writer's block, they started pouring out. I decided to create the future, to look towards where we are going, to create beauty and pull towards that beauty. I need that for myself, but it's also there for whoever else needs it'.

Track Listing:
1. My Horror - Santigold
2. Nothing - Santigold
3. High Priestess - Santigold
4. Ushers of the New World - Santigold
5. Witness - Santigold
6. Shake - Santigold
7. The Lasty - Santigold
8. No Paradise - Santigold
9. Ain't Ready - Santigold
10. Fall First - Santigold

Year of Production: 2022