Search The Record Hub

The Selecter were one of the key bands of the ska revival in the late '70s and one of the few racially and sexually integrated bands on the scene. Vocalist Pauline Black wrote about sexism, racism, and social issues. Their debut release was the AA side of The Specials single 'Gangsters' in the summer of 1979, which only consisted of Neol Davies and John Bradbury (of The Specials) before quickly forming a full band by the end of the year. Releasing their follow up single 'On My Radio' which reached No. 6 in the UK charts. Their debut album 'Too Much Pressure' was released in February 1980 and reached No. 5 in the UK charts. The album also included two further hit singles 'Three Minute Hero' and 'Missing Words'. This 40th anniversary edition includes a bonus 7-inch featuring 'On My Radio' and 'Too Much Pressure'.

Track Listing:
1. Three Minute Hero - The Selecter
2. Everyday - The Selecter
3. They Make Me Mad - The Selecter
4. Missing Words - The Selecter
5. Danger - The Selecter
6. Street Feeling - The Selecter
7. My Collie (Not a Dog) - The Selecter
8. Too Much Pressure - The Selecter
9. Murder - The Selecter
10. Out On the Streets - The Selecter
11. Carry Go Bring Come - The Selecter
12. Black and Blue - The Selecter
13. James Bond - The Selecter
1. On My Radio - The Selecter
2. Too Much Pressure - The Selecter

Year of Production: 1980