Search The Record Hub

What Kinda Music' is an astonishing collaboration between two artists of very different disciplines, and one of the most unique and seamlessly original projects of its ilk to date. Moving fluidly through sleek electronica, avant-garde jazz, vintage hip-hop and so much more, Misch and Dayes take you on a journey that is by turns surprising and spontaneous, heady and head spinning, and nothing less than compelling - a singular vision which fuses the DNA of both musicians with spectacular results, as can be seen in the title track, which comes backed by a gorgeously atmospheric video by XX. Even though the fundamental bones of this project came together very quickly, its actual provenance stretches much, much further back, with the pair not only growing up in the same area of South East London, but Misch actually seeing Dayes play on drums in the school talent show for the first time when he was roughly 8 or 9. They both kept tabs on each other - Misch becoming a fan of Dayes' act Yussef Kamaal, Dayes clocking his videos in 2014 - but it was only when they met at a launch party for Misch's debut LP 'Geography' in 2018 that the proverbial creative sparks began to fly. 'As a musician you're always looking for contemporaries who can push you and challenge you and make you better', says Dayes. 'I instantly felt that with Tom - he was such a gifted musician, and so prolific'. Throughout the record, there is an utterly joyful feel of two musicians at the top of their game sparking off one another, picking up ideas and running with them - zigging where the other zags, ebbing where the other flows, with Misch producing the majority of the record and both having a hand in the overall sound and feel of the record.

Track Listing:
1. What Kinda Music - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
2. Festival - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
3. Nightrider (Feat. Freddie Gibbs) - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
4. Tidal Wave - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
5. Sensational - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
6. The Real - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
7. Lift Off (Feat. Rocco Palladino) - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
8. I Did It for You - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
9. Last 100 - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
10. Kyiv - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
11. Julie Mangos - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes
12. Storm Before the Calm (Feat. Kaidi Akinnibi) - Tom Misch x Yussef Dayes

Year of Production: 2020