Search The Record Hub

Soul Jazz Records new 'Life Between Islands' collection coincides with the launch of Tate Britain's exhibition of the same name. This landmark exhibition explores the links between Caribbean and British art and culture from the 1950's to now. Soul Jazz Records album, sub-titled 'Soundsystem Culture - Black Musical Expression 1973-2006', focuses on the most important black British musical styles to emerge out of the distinctly Caribbean world of sound systems. The album features an all-star line-up including Dennis Bovell, Shut Up and Dance, Cymande, Digital Mystikz, Brown Sugar, Funk Masters, Janet Kay, Ragga Twins and more.

Track Listing:
1. Sticks Man - Black Slate
2. Rising to the Top - Dee Sharp
3. One Bible - Asher Senator
4. Fug - Cymande
5. Misty Winter - Digital Mystikz
6. Be Thankful for What You've Got - Winston Curtis
7. It Must Be Love - Trevor Hartley
8. Java Bass (Feat. Ragga Twins) - Shut Up and Dance
9. Black Pride - Brown Sugar
10. RK1 - The Terrorist
11. Don't Let It Go to Your Head - Black Harmony
12. Positive Vibrations - Pebbles
13. Ragga Trip - Ragga Twins
14. Still in Love - Janet Kay & Alton Ellis
15. Love Money - Funk Masters
16. Compelled - Cosmic Idren
17. No Time for Hello - Harry Beckett
18. Ooh Boy - Sandra Reid
19. Don't Call Us Immigrants - Tabby Cat Kelly
20. I'm in Love With a Dreadlocks - Brown Sugar

Year of Production: 2022