Search The Record Hub

Since its beginnings in Jamaica in 1959, the story of the pioneering Island Records label has been inextricably linked to the story of its founder, Chris Blackwell. Now, Blackwell has curated a series of compilation LPs featuring his hand-picked tracks that correspond with his and Island's legendary history. Volume three of The Vinyl Series is an 18-track double LP compiling some of the label's key releases of the late 1960s and early '70s. Volume One included pivotal songs from 1962 to 1969, and Volume Two covered the years 1969 to 1973. Taken together, the sets explore the wide-ranging highlights from Island's remarkable and extensive catalog. This volume of The Vinyl Series includes material which remained rooted in the folk and acoustic-based styles that were crucial to Island's foundation.

Track Listing:
1. Fire and Water - Free
2. Sailin' Shoes - Robert Palmer
3. Cissy Strut - The Meters
4. The "in" Crowd - Bryan Ferry
5. This Is Reggae Music - Zap Pow
6. Time Tough - Toots and The Maytals
7. Johnny Too Bad - The Slickers
8. You Can Get It If You Really Want - Jimmy Cliff
9. King Tubby Meets the Rockers Uptown - Augustus Pablo
1. Dear Mr. Fantasy - Traffic
2. Bad Company - Bad Company
3. Better By You, Better Than Me - Spooky Tooth
4. This Town Ain't Big Enough for Both of Us - Sparks
5. Virginia Plan - Roxy Music
6. Morning Has Broken - Cat Stevens
7. Way to Blue - Nick Drake
8. Late November - Sandy Denny
9. Lucky Man - Emerson, Lake & Palmer

Year of Production: 2021