Search The Record Hub

Since its release in 1995, the second album by Whipping Boy has, slowly but undeniably, come to be regarded as one of the most extraordinary rock albums of its age. 'Heartworm' heralded a dramatic transformation for the Dublin quartet, who jettisoned the diaphanous dreampop of their 1992 debut 'Submarine'; choosing instead to honour Fearghal McKee's wounded confessionals with unprecedented pugnacity and a new emphasis on melody. In the year that Britpop became a rolling news story, 'Heartworm' slipped out under the radar - although similarly against-the-grain contemporaneous releases include Manic Street Preachers' 'The Holy Bible' and Radiohead's 'The Bends'. This reissue on Needle Mythology Records has been remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road and features an extra album of previously rare and unreleased music and comprehensive liner notes by esteemed Irish music journalist Colm O'Callaghan.

Track Listing:
1. Twinkle - Whipping Boy
2. When We Were Young - Whipping Boy
3. Tripped - Whipping Boy
4. The Honeymoon Is Over - Whipping Boy
5. We Don't Need Nobody Else - Whipping Boy
6. Blinded - Whipping Boy
7. Personality - Whipping Boy
8. Users - Whipping Boy
9. Fiction - Whipping Boy
10. Morning Rise - Whipping Boy
1. When We Were Young (Philo Version) (Bonus Track) - Whipping Boy
2. I Am God (Demo) - Whipping Boy
3. Magnolia (Demo) - Whipping Boy
4. Caroline Says II (Bonus Track) - Whipping Boy
5. Tripped - Whipping Boy
6. We Don't Need Nobody Else - Whipping Boy
7. Disappointed (Bonus Track) - Whipping Boy
8. Twinkle - Whipping Boy
9. As the Day Goes (Bonus Track) - Whipping Boy
10. A Natural (Bonus Track) - Whipping Boy

Year of Production: 1995